Browsing: Book Reviews

JULIA DEFIANT brings a new dimension of threats, but struggles with momentum. High fantasy and supernatural mystery meet in Julia Defiant, the second book in Catherine Egan’s The Witch’s Child trilogy. The novel continues the adventures of Julia, a girl with the inexplicable ability to vanish who lives in a world full of witches, magic, and dark supernatural beings. Julia and her ragtag group of companions– from thieves to professors to Mrs. Och, an ancient mystical being meant to protect the world from dangerous magic– have fled their home country in search of answers. The group barely survived their encounter…

WHAT TO SAY NEXT adds new depth to Julie Buxbaum’s YA catalog! Julie Buxbaum solidifies her knack for heartfelt Young Adult novels with What To Say Next, which follows two characters who form an unexpected connection in the wake of a loss. One month after the death of her father, everyone expects Kit Lowell to be getting over it. As a way of getting away from their judgement, Kit finds herself sitting at a lunch table with only one other occupant– David Drucker, a quiet fellow student who Kit hasn’t really interacted with since childhood. Mostly, she sits there in…

What happens when a YA novel completely goes for it, giving you a medieval fantasy world with a sarcastic edge and a whirlwind team-up adventure? You get Andrew Shvarts’ Royal Bastards, a surprising delight of a novel! Tillandra (or “Tilla”), bastard daughter of Lord Kent of the Western Province, picked the wrong night to play host to the rebellious urges of the visiting princess, Lyriana. While sneaking around the Western Province with Lyriana, Tilla’s half brother, Jax, and two other bastard teens, the five witness the unspeakable. Soon, they’re caught up in the middle of a full-tilt rebellion, running from…

In November, I got my hands on this new novel by Karen McManus, One of Us is Lying. This who dunnit combines the best of Gossip Girl, The Breakfast Club, and Pretty Little Liars to create a story of mystery, overcoming stereotypes, and self acceptance. Everybody has a secret, but what would you do to keep your biggest one hidden? Would you kill? In this story, six people walk into detention with secrets about to be spilled. The one with the key to the others’ secrets ends up dead. It’s a story you won’t want to miss. Watch below to…

LORD OF SHADOWS already pulls you into its intense story from page 1 with its detailed descriptions and strong characterizations.  ***mild spoilers from book 1, Lady Midnight*** Lord of Shadows is book 2 of the urban fantasy trilogy, The Dark Artifices by Cassandra Clare. The trilogy centers on the Shadowhunters living at the Los Angeles Institute – Emma Carstairs, the Blackthorn family, and Diana Wrayburn. Julian Blackthorn, who despite being only about 17 years old, has been running the institute himself as well as watching over his siblings. In book two, a new can of worms has been opened after the battle…

Maybe you read Becky Albetalli’s first book, Simon vs. The Homo Sapians Agenda. Well last month, Albertalli released a new book with many similar themes, but an altogether different and equally special story. The Upside of Unrequited tells the story of a girl named Molly and her twin sister, Cassie. Raised by two moms, Molly meets a girl (Mina) in the bathroom and instantly knows she would be perfect for Cassie. Proving her right, the two hit it off. But Molly might have a surprise of her own following 26 unrequited crushes; Mina’s friend Will seems to be interested in her.…

Veronica Chambers’ THE GO-BETWEEN delivers a captivating story with an important message.  When I first heard about Veronica Chambers’ new book, The Go-Between, I was intrigued. Not just because the synopsis promised that it was perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin, which is one of my favourite shows, but because it sounded unlike anything I had read before. But I was expecting something fluffy and sweet, something light. But The Go-Between was so much more than that. It carried an important message about being true to who you are, and about paying attention to your own words and prejudices. That’s not to say the book wasn’t…

On May 2, the highly anticipated final book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy (better known as ACOTAR) was released! As with all books by Sarah J Maas, I could not wait to get my hands on this finale. The trilogy follows a girl named Feyre as she is thrust into the world of Fae, first through the lens of Beauty and the Beast, then other fairytales and folklore. This final installation continues Feyre’s story as she discovers more about love, friendship, war, and sacrifice. Watch below to hear my thoughts on the series, and this finale!…

The Wrath and the Dawn author Renee Ahdieh gives us an engaging perspective of feudal Japan in FLAME IN THE MIST. ***Flame in the Mist (Advance Reader’s Copy) was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*** Flame in the Mist is the first book in a duology by The Wrath and the Dawn author Renee Ahdieh. This would make this her sophomore series, which can be a bit of a trial for both writer and reader. The story centers around Mariko, a young lady from a prominent Japanese samurai family, who has been promised to young man…

Prepare to be transported to a new world of YA in Emily Henry’s A Million Junes! This silky, ethereal tale spans through generations of magic and darkness, leading to a modern smalltown Romeo and Juliet. This one’s for the dreamers, written in an unique style that draws you in and slowly unravels a strange and complex world. Jack “June” O’Donnell IV was given the family name because being a Jack is important in Five Fingers, Michigan. Her family is in the local history books, and the mysteries of their generations-old farm– from peaceful coywolves who like to steal shoes to…

1 2 3 18